
2023 MAHONING COUNTY DOG LICENSE FEES 
 
ANY PERSON WHO OWNS, KEEPS, OR HARBORS A DOG MORE THAN THREE MONTHS OF AGE MUST 
FILE AN APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION EACH YEAR.  
 
1 year tag for dog license renewal fee, December 1 – January 31 (Extended to Feb. 28) $20.00 

1 year tag for dogs licensed at 3 months of age or younger $20.00 

1 year tag dogs licensed within 30 days of acquisition or moving from another state $20.00 

1 year tag for dog license fee includes late penalty  $40.00 

1 year tag for dogs licensed after January 31  (Extended to Feb. 28) that are 4 months of age 
or older and not licensed within 30 days of acquisition 

$40.00 

1 year tag for license renewed after January 31 (Extended to Feb. 28) $40.00 

3 year tag for dog license  $60.00 

Permanent tag for dog license (10 year or life of the dog) $200.00 

Pro-rated fee: a dog becoming 3 months of age AFTER July 1, or PURCHASED outside Ohio 
AFTER July 1, shall register the dog within 90 days of becoming 3 months or within 90 days of 
the date of acquisition 

$10.00 

 
Transfer current license to new owner, (form available at Dog Wardens office) 

$5.00 

Duplicate license fee $5.00 

Kennel license fee, applied for by January 31 (Extended to Feb. 28). covers any dog owned in 
good faith by licensee  (five tags issued, additional tags $1 each) 

$100.00* 

 
Kennel license fee after January 31 (Extended to Feb. 28). Includes late penalty  

$200.00* 

 
*VENDOR LICENSE IS REQUIRED IN ORDER TO PURCHASE A KENNEL LICENSE. THE COST IS $25.00 
WHICH IS A ONE TIME FEE AS LONG AS THE VENDOR LICENSE IS ACTIVE.  YOU CAN ONLY 
PURCHASE A KENNEL LICENSE FROM THE AUDITOR’S OFFICE.* 
 
*If all dogs owned are altered (spayed/ neutered), owner does NOT qualify for a kennel license.   
 “A KENNEL OWNER is a person, partnership, firm, company, or corporation professionally engaged in the 
business of BREEDING DOGS for hunting or for sale” 
 
If a dog is licensed in any county in Ohio and the owner moves to another county in Ohio, that current license will 
be honored by that county for the remainder of the year. The owner should notify the county where the license 
was issued of the change of address. 
 
When you have your pet spayed or neutered, you not only contribute to the solution of pet overpopulation, you 
also reduce the risk that your pet will contract certain cancers or develop aggressive tendencies.  
 
 


