Mission Statement and History

Mission Statement

It is the desire of the Mahoning County Sheriff's Department to affirmatively promote, preserve and deliver a feeling of security, safety and quality services to members of our community. Each employee is required to accept the responsibility for the achievement of this mission, and to publicly register his or her commitment to it and to the concepts of quality service.

This mission represents the commitment of this administration to the concept of quality performance management. In other words, members are expected to work consistently in a quality manner in the daily performance of those duties, job responsibilities and work tasks associated with this mission. Quality manner means that performance outcomes comply with the performance standards established for this agency and for each member associated with this agency. Examples of performance standards include the oath of office, code of ethics, agency rules, policies, procedures, directives, general and supervisory orders, work productivity and performance behavior.


County Sheriffs' from 1850 to Present

1850-1851   William Meeker
1852-1855   Erastus Platt    
1856-1857   Albert Cook    
1858-1861   Samuel Smith    
1862-1863   Matthew Logan    
1864-1867   N.P. Callahan    
1868-1871   Charles Townsend    
1872-1875   John R. Davis    
1876-1879   James B. Drake    
1880-1883   George W. Ludwick    
1884-1887   Eli B. Walker    
1888-1891   Samuel O. Ewing    
1892-1893   James K. Orr    
1894-1898   C. F. Callahan    
1899-1900   J. Howard Shields    
1901-1903   James M. Thomas
1904-1910   Frank DeNormandie
1911-1912   George W. Turner
1913-1916   J. C. Umstead
1917-1918   T. E. Milliken
1919-1922   Ben Morris
1923-1926   Paul E. Lyden
1927-1928   P. J. Coril
1929-1932   Adam G. Stone
1933-1934   William J. Englehardt
1935-1948   Ralph E. Elser
1949-1960   Paul J. Langley
1961-1976   Ray T. Davis
1977-1979   Michael Yarosh
1979-1980   George D. Tablack
1981-1984   James A. Traficant
1985-1996   Edward P. Nemeth
1997-1999   Philip A. Chance
1999-2013   Randall A. Wellington
2013-         Jerry Greene