
with the Ohio Adoption Registry. To
determine if an Authorization for Release
of Information has been Þled, the adoptee
(who must be at least 21 years of age),
shall Þle a Petition for Identifying Informa-
tion with the court, either in person or by
mail. A fee is charged. The court will issue
an order to the Ohio Adoption Registry
requiring the Registry to produce any
releases they have on Þle for the adoptee.

For adoptions Þnalized after September
18, 1996, identifying information may be
accessed if the birth parents have
executed a disclosure statement authoriz-
ing the release of identifying information.
The adoptee who is 21 years of age or the
adoptive parents of the adoptee, who is at
least 18 years of age, but not yet 21 years
of age, may request a copy of the contents
of the adoption Þle from the Ohio Depart-
ment of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Non-Identifying social and medical infor-
mation is available to the adoptee who is
21 years of age or to the parents of the
adoptee if the adoptee is less than 21
years of age upon the submission of a
written request to the court by mail. The
request should include the full adoptive
name of the adoptee, the adoptee’s date
of birth, the year the adoptee believes the
adoption was Þnalized and the full name
of the adoptive parents. The request must

be accompanied with a copy of the 
adoptee’s driver’s license or state issued 
photo ID and a copy of the adoptee’s birth 
certificate. There are no court costs for this 
request.  *Due to recent law changes, for 
any request filed after 03/20/15 please 
refer to Court's website and/or the 
Court's Adoption Records Brochure 
regarding records release.

HOURS & LOCATIONS

Monday- Friday   8:00 AM-4:30 PM

BE SURE TO VISIT OUR WEBSITE: 
mahoningcountyoh.gov/probate

record and to create a new birth record
with the name(s) of the petitioner(s) as the
parent(s) of the adoptee. Legal represen-
tation of the petitioners is required on all
adoptions except for step-parent and
public service agency adoptions.

OPEN ADOPTIONS

Since September 1996, Ohio has permit-
ted open adoptions. The birth parents and
adoptive parents can continue to have
access to each other after the adoption
Þnalization. The type and amount of
access is determined between the parties.
This arrangement is totally voluntary. The
parties may change their minds at any
time. There is no legal mechanism to
enforce agreements which have been
made between the parties.

ACCESS TO ADOPTION RECORDS

All adoption records held by this court are
conÞdential. Information contained
therein may be accessed only with court
approval.

For adoptions Þnalized before January 1,
1964, adoption records may be accessed
by the adoptee, the adoptive parents, a
lineal descendant of the adoptee, the birth
parent or the birth siblings upon written
request to the court. The adoptee may
access the original birth certiÞcate from
the Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of
Vital Statistics.

For adoptions Þnalized between January
1, 1964 and September 18, 1996, identify-
ing information contained in the adoption

OOPENN ADOPTIONS

AACCCESS TO ADOPTTION RECORDS

Informational Guide 
About Adopion

Judge Robert N. Rusu, Jr. As 
Probate Court Judge, my goal is 
serve the public in the most 
efficient and courteous manner 
possible. I am providing this 
brochure to help with any 
possible questions or concerns 
you may have while working 
with the Probate Court. I hope 
you find this information 
helpful.

The information in this pamphlet is provided as a
service of the court and does not constitute legal
advice which can only be given to you by an attorney.
Many probate and family law matters involve
complex and valuable legal rights. You should always
speak with an attorney before Þling any papers.

Þle may be released
only if an Authoriza-
tion for Release of
Information has been
signed by the biologi-
cal parent(s) and/or
sibling(s) and Þled
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ADOPTIONS

Adoption is a wonderful way to create
legal familial relationships between adults
who wish to become parents and children
who are in need of parents. The adoption
process typically begins with the place-
ment of the adoptee with the prospective
adoptive parents and typically ends with a
hearing before the probate court where
the judge will make a determination that
the prospective parents are suitable to
care for and rear the child.

There are several types of adoptions:

Agency Adoptions - Minor children are
surrendered by their birth parents or have
been permanently committed by the
juvenile court to the custody of a public
children services agency (Department of
Jobs and Family Services) or a private child
placing agency. Once the agency receives
custody of the minor child, the sta! will
identify prospective adoptive families
with whom the children can be matched
for adoptive placement.

Step-parent Adoptions - Minor children
are adopted by the spouse of their custo-
dial parent. Grandparent and other intra-
family or relative adoptions are not
considered step-parent adoptions. They
fall under the umbrella of private adop-
tions.

Private Adoptions - Birth parents identify
prospective adoptive parents with whom
they wish to place their child. The birth
parents will ask the probate court to place

their child adoptively with the prospec-
tive parents. If the court is convinced that
adoptive placement is in the child’s best
interest, the application will be granted.
The prospective adoptive parents will be
charged with the duty to petition the
court for approval of the adoption.

International Adoptions - Minor
children of foreign countries are placed
adoptively with American parents. The
adoption Þnalization can occur in the
foreign country or may be completed in
the United States as determined by the
laws of the foreign country.

Foreign Readoptions - Parents of minor
children whose adoptions have been
Þnalized in their original country of
residence may petition the probate court
for leave to readopt the children. The
probate court considers the petition
utilizing the same standards as are
utilized in the domestic adoption process.

Adult Adoptions - An adult person may 
be adopted if said person is totally and 
permanently disabled or said person is 
mentally handicapped or if the 
petitioner has established a child\step-
parent relation-ship or child\foster 
caregiver relationship during the age of 
minority of the adult to be adopted.

WHO MAY ADOPT

The persons who may adopt are a mar-
ried couple, an unmarried adult, a step-
parent, or married adult without their

spouse joining as a petitioner if the
spouse is legally separated from the peti-
tioner.

PROPER LEGAL PLACEMENT

Under Ohio law, an adoption may not be
Þnalized without a proper legal place-
ment of the child in the home of the
adoptive parents. This means the child
must have been living in the adoptive
home for at least six months. A proper
legal placement can be achieved in a
variety of ways. The most common are:
1. Marriage between birth parent and

step-parent;
2. Placement of child by public agency

in the licensed adoptive home;
3. Placement of child by private agency

in the licensed adoptive home;
4. Placement of child in the adoptive

home by a custody order issued by a
juvenile court;

5. Placement of the child in the adop-
tive home by a guardianship order
issued by a probate court;

6. The adoptee has been living in the
home of the petitioners for at least
six months since the issuance of an
interlocutory order of adoption.

CONSENT

A petition to adopt a minor child shall be
granted only if written consent to the
adoption has been executed by the
following:

1. Birth mother;
2. Father, if the child was conceived or

born while the father was married to

the birth mother or if the child is
born within 300 days after the
termination of the marriage;

3. Father, if the child is his by adoption;
4. Father, if there has been an adminis-

trative or legal proceeding establ-
ishing a parent and child
relationship prior to the date of
Þling the petition for adoption;

5. Father, if he has acknowledged
paternity of the child and the
acknowledgment has been entered
in the birth registry;

6. Putative Father, if timely registered
(not later than 30 days after the birth
of the child) with the Putative Father
Registry, which is a database main-
tained by the Ohio Department of
Jobs and Family Services;

7. The adoptee's guardian;
8. Any person or agency having

permacnent custody of the child;
9. The adoptee, if more than 12 years

of age.

ADOPTION PROCEDURE

Once the petition for adoption is Þled, the
probate court will direct the petitioners to
engage an assessor, who is a social worker
specially licensed by the State of Ohio to
prepare adoption home studies. The
home study will be used as evidence by
the court to determine the suitability of
the adoptive parents. The court will
determine a date for the Þnalization hear-
ing. At this hearing the court will rule on
the merits of the pending petition. If the
court determines the petition should be
granted, it will issue an order to the
Department of Health to seal the old birth

1. Birth mother;
2. Father, if the child was conceived or

born while the father was married to

the birth mother or if the child is
born within 300 days after the
termination of the marriage;

3. Father, if the child is his by adoption;
4. Father, if there has been an adminis-

trative or legal proceeding establ-
ishing a parent and child
relationship prior to the date of
Þling the petition for adoption;

5. Father, if he has acknowledged
paternity of the child and the
acknowledgment has been entered
in the birth registry;

6. Putative Father, if timely registered
(not later than 30 days after the birth
of the child) with the Putative Father
Registry, which is a database main-
tained by the Ohio Department of
Jobs and Family Services;

7. The adoptee's guardian;
8. Any person or agency having

permacnent custody of the child;
9. The adoptee, if more than 12 years

of age.




